Product Review

Gedore Hand Tools – Reviewed

Hand Tools by Gedore-Reviewed

VM&R.com

VM&R.com

What does one look for in a Hand Tool?,

  • Functionality
  • Precision Fitting
  • Strength
  • Professional Craftsmanship
  • Durability
  • Ease of Use
  • Easy Maintenance
  • Reasonably Priced

All these qualities are found in Gedore’s range of Hand Tools.

Here is a review of the best brand of hand tools I use, and  in Automotive Workshops Worldwide, its Functionality, Durability, Craftsmanship and Reputation earned in many Industries and why it is guaranteed for a Lifetime.

 

Visit Gedore’s Website                                                             See Also my review on Battery Jump Pack here


Product:- Automotive Hand Tools

GEDORE 6612280 2/3 Combination Wrench Set, ES Tool module

GEDORE 6612280 2/3 Combination Wrench Set, ES Tool module

Product Name:- Gedore

Product No.:- 6612280

Dimensions:- 13.8 x 12.7 x 2.4 inches

Weight:- 5.6 pounds

Owners:- Gedore

Website:- http://gedoretools.com

Origin:- Germany

Application:- Automotive

Quantity:- 1 Set (25 Piece)

Available From:- Amazon.com

Endorsements:- Vehicle Maintenance and Repairs.com

Overall Rating:- 9-10

Price:- $314.01

My Rating:- 10-10


Overview

Join me as I review a tool brand that has been around almost as long as the car itself, as timeless as internal combustion engines,

Gedore tools has withstood the test of time and heavy usage. My 1st tool set was a Gedore set of hand tools, most of which I still have, barring those I lost over the past 30+ years, they still make it like they used to, in the case of Gedore.

A Little History

The story of GEDORE’s success begins in December 1919. in the Town of Remscheid, Germany, the brothers Karl, Otto and Willi Dowidat build up a tiny forge, with virtually no capital, to manufacture adjustable spanners and other hand tools.

They decide to call their company GEDORE, an acronym based on the name GEbrüder (brothers) DOwidat REmscheid.

Quality gets around and Lasts

The Dowidat brothers’ high-quality, durable tools are soon acquired by the rapidly growing trade and industrial companies. GEDORE also manufactures more and more items for automobile production, which experiences an early boom after World War I.

The forge soon becomes too small, and in 1926 GEDORE moves into new premises in Remscheid Lüttringhausen – still the family company’s main base today.

Gedore tools

Gedore Quality-Timeless

Pro’s

Gedore has a wide range of Automotive Tools Including:-

  • Springs and Shock Absorber Tools
  • Steering System Tools
  • Axle Repair Tools
  • Silent Bloc and Bush Tools
  • Brake Service Tools
  • Engine Tools
  • Clutch Repair Tools
  • Transmission Tools
  • Body and Interior Tools
  • General Repair Tools
Ratchet by Gedore

Gedore Quality Reversible Ratchet

And have the following Qualities

  • Lifetime Warranty
  • Precision, dimensioned accuracy and exactness of fitting
  • Robust yet smooth and professionally finished
  • A well-functioning extended range
  • Hardened, Tempered Steel does not distort under pressure
  • Represented in more than 70 countries worldwide
  • The Epitome of modern tools
  • Functionality
  • Strength
  • Professional Craftsmanship
  • Durability
  • Ease of Use
  • Easy Maintenance
  • Reasonably Priced

With a Progressive expansion strategy

  • From 2016 there will be three strong brands:
  • GEDORE, the premium brand for high-quality tools
  • CAROLUS, the brand for solid tools in the middle price segment
  • OCHSENKOPF, the traditional premium brand for excellent forestry tools

 

Con’s

I have not experienced any, except when lending my Gedore Tools, the borrower does not want to return it Hahahaha.

 

Final Opinion

Gedore Hand Tools are the best I used in all 30+ years of being an Auto Mechanic, I fully endorse Gedore Hand Tools and will recommend it to anyone. Even YOU.

I am sure there are those who will disagree, but I have no cause to doubt Gedore’s timeless quality and style, and never had the need for any other tool brand. Its quality and longevity continues to impress me, even now.

 

My Personal Experience with Gedore

Gedore tool board

My Gedore Toolboard

I have been using gedore Hand Tools since I started in the Automotive Industry about 30 years ago, everyday, my 1st tool set was Gedore and I still have most of the original pieces, barring a few pieces I have lost over the years.

What always amazed me over the years was the fact that even the popular size spanners, such as 10-12-13-14-17-19mm lasts all these 30 years without showing extreme wear.

Excellent durability is what an Auto Mechanic expects of hand tools used everyday, the Gedore Brand delivered just that for 3 decades.

Case in Point

There was the 1st time I did a Vw Golf clutch assembly, those familiar will know that the pressure plate bolts to the rear of the Crankshaft, so the flywheel has already been removed.

How does one hold the engine from turning while loosening off the pressure plate bolts which are torqued at around 75 Nm ?

I use a size 13mm gedore spanner and a bolt through the bellhousing, I tried this with a lessor quality brand spanner and it snapped clear through, my proof that Gedore combination spanner does not even distort under this kind of pressure.

Spanner by Gedore

Gedore Combination Spanner

When Gedore is Not Available

I recall this one time I was called out to attend to a breakdown on a construction site approx. 500Kms out of town, We, my apprentice and I, prepared to stay over until the repair was completed, disaster, my apprentice did not pack in the toolboxes, the booze yes, not the tools Lol.

We borrowed tools on site, and learned the hard way about using bad, low quality, no name brand, awful, cheap @#$% tools, that slipped, cracked on the ring side and was no good, we had to wait half a day for our tools to be transported to site, so as to complete the repair, at least we had the booze, Hahahahaha.

Needless to say, Gedore received another feather in it’s cap so to speak, need I say more ?, not likely.

 

Where to buy

 

 

 

What tool brands do you prefer ?   I would like to review it.


Leave a Comment or ask a Question.

Can I be of assistance to you in any way?

Drop in on My profile page.


 

Until Next Time “Safe Motoring”

About Gary

Reviewed By Gary Dlc

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please follow and like us:

Gedore Automotive Hand Tools

$314.01
Gedore Automotive Hand Tools
9.9

Price

10/10

Versatility

10/10

Durability

10/10

Ease Of Use

10/10

Availability

10/10

Pros

  • Precision Fitting, Non Slip
  • 25 Piece Hand Tools
  • Both Beginners and Pro's
  • Durability
  • High Quality

Cons

  • None

14 Comments

  • Patrick
    August 27, 2017 - 11:31 pm | Permalink

    Hi Gary – Great review on Gedore automotive hand tools.

    I really enjoyed your write-up on the history of the company and how the brothers forged their family relationship to build an exceptional well made product for automotive enthusiasts.

    It would appear from your review that Gedore has stood the test of time from the early days of the automotive industry.

    Well made hand tools are difficult to find these days. I’m impressed with the lifetime warranty.

    It reminds me of the of Sears Craftsmen hand tools here in the US. Sears sold their rights to True Value some time ago and it’s never been the same.

    I like the idea of standing behind your product and guaranteeing if it doesn’t perform as intended you can get a replacement.

    I am sure you can attest from over 30 years of automotive maintenance experience that your tools are the life blood of your trade.

    Thanks for the great product description and I will be looking to the Gedore brand of quality hand tools when I upgrade my garage tool set.

    Patrick

    • August 28, 2017 - 2:14 pm | Permalink

      Hello Patrick
      Thank you very much for the visit to my website and your in depth response to this review, 1stly, I find history to be important, especially when it concerns the quality of a produced item, especially a product which one puts one’s own name to, this attests to the commitment applied to the concerned venture, as no one would want their name to be associated with a lesser quality product, therefore Gedore is still considered one of the best quality tool producers, today, more than 100 years down the line.

      As in your example, when a brand is sold to a 3rd party, with its family name, it is just not the same a few years down the line, because there is less to lose for the new owners, as their name is not attached to the product.

      As to using the Gedore brand of tools in my everyday operation, it needs to be of the highest quality and be durable, but it also has to perform well, and be easy to use and maintain, this I get from the Gedore brand of tools, as an Auto Mechanic’s time is valuable, the least time spent struggling with inferior tools the more productive his time can be spent and the better quality the end result is.

      Thank you once again for your input Patrick it is greatly appreciated, all the best to you.

      Gary

  • August 27, 2017 - 12:37 am | Permalink

    Hey Gary!

    I’ve never heard of these tools before. I don’t know if they’re available in the US, but I would love to see them here if they aren’t.

    We have good tool companies here such as MAC, SNAP ON, and Craftsman (now owned by Stanley). Thing is … I still here that some of those break, even with a lifetime warranty. Some jobs just require more strength than is usually needed.

    Love the details, explanations, and all the pros that go along with it.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • August 27, 2017 - 10:22 am | Permalink

      Hi Sylvia
      Thanks for the visit to my website and sharing your insights on quality tools, I never had to return or claim on any of my Gedore tools in over 30 years, and I really work with my tools daily, abusing it to a degree at times, so I can personally say that Gedore compares and even supersedes other brands you mentioned in your comment, I am surprised that you mentioned you have not heard of Gedore before as they have a presence in more than 70 countries, maybe it is not promoted as well as the brands you are used to.

      All the best to you future Sylvia

      Gary

  • Aaron
    August 27, 2017 - 12:18 am | Permalink

    Nice review, I was looking to get some new tools… personally I could care less about BRAND name. I want tools that are durable, and need tools that are good for everyday use. How do these tools compare to cheaper tools?

    • August 27, 2017 - 10:45 am | Permalink

      Hi Aaron
      Thanks for visiting my website and in commenting on my review of Gedore Quality Automotive Tools, in my daily routine, I get to use my Gedore Tools each and every working day, durability is a prerequisite, I do not have the time to struggle with inferior quality tools, as it will be time consuming and deliver sub standard work results, so I can confidently say that Gedore Quality Hand Tools is way superior to most tool brands out there, and yes I am a stickler for name brands especially after my 30 odd years as being an Auto Mechanic, I have seen scary things pertaining to tools and its quality. My advice is, acquire a good set of Gedore Tools, available at Amazon.

      All the best Aaron, and once again thanks for your visit and input.

      Gary

  • arlene
    August 26, 2017 - 8:41 pm | Permalink

    Gedore brand has been in the industry for nearly century, Professionalism at its best, Ive learned this from my husbands Dad who has a pile of tools from this Brand, from the family where they’ve grown up working in automotive industry in michigan just my brother in law bought this recently for his big bike – its a pile of of lever reversible ratchet, hexagon, slot, 50 – 100 mm extension. universal joint, hand grip extension, adapter, hex inserts, convertor, Gedore brand even exceeds its product designs for now over 18,000 its reliability and quality excel … and grampa is passing his tools to the next generation …

    • August 26, 2017 - 8:56 pm | Permalink

      Hi Arlene
      Thanks for taking the time to visit my website and help endorse the Gedore brand of tools, I particularly like the fact that your Grandpa will be passing the tools on to a younger generation, it really speaks volumes of Gedore’s quality and longevity. You seem to know a bit about tools as I can tell in your description of some tools you mentioned.

      I wish you great future success Arlene

      Gary

  • James
    August 26, 2017 - 8:12 pm | Permalink

    Quality never costs too much, bargain tools always do. you will replace them many times.
    I saw many automotive technicians complaining when their craftsman tools were breaking and
    costing them time and money.
    A lifetime warranty does not assure quality. A quality tool pays you with its reliability and ease
    of operation. this makes the job go faster and more smoothly.
    You have found a winner with all the right attributes, you are backing a winner there. You use of them speaks loudly for them.

    • August 26, 2017 - 8:17 pm | Permalink

      Hi James
      Thank you for the visit and insights into quality tools, it is true to spend once and invest in quality, especially tools one uses every day, this is what I get from Gedore and why I value their tools so highly.

      All the best James

      Gary

  • Tim JOhnson
    August 26, 2017 - 5:03 pm | Permalink

    I like using quality tools! I never heard of this brand before, mostly in the US Snap-On was the choice followed by Pro-Line or Craftsman. Now Bosch seems to be popular. I do agree China and also Japan are the worst for tools, they are cheap ~ you get what you pay for, mostly because these tools are made of re-used scrap steel from WWII.

    How does one replace the tool if it gets wrecked, I know I have gone through screw drivers and some torx drivers.

    Good tools often have a way of making it into someone else’s toolbox, I know some of mine have! 😉

    I enjoyed the post and the layout of it! Nice job Gary!

    • August 26, 2017 - 5:20 pm | Permalink

      Hello Tim
      Thank you for visiting and contributing with your insights, yes it is good to use quality tools as the finished product just somehow seems better, I heard of the brands you mention in your comment and find it largely expensive due to it being directly imported from the US to my country, whereas Gedore actually have a forge here and the tools are made locally under Gedore’s licensing agreements.Tools from China are poor quality and do not last, especially for my applications, which occur daily.I spend money on quality Gedore tools very seldom as the sets I purchase, own and use daily, lasts a lifetime.

      All the best Tim

      Gary

  • August 26, 2017 - 2:54 pm | Permalink

    I love hand tools from Germany as many of our folks boost. It’s really the durability that matters. I like the bolts and nuts being broken than the tool itself because that will show how the quality is.

    I haven’t seen yet in my country Gedore brands only marked as made in Germany. I don’t know if those are genuinely made from Germany but it seems the best of the tools appearing in market places.

    We have the brands of Lotus, Chrome, China and the worst of them all is the tools made in China.

    Of course, if we want to invest in quality tools it’s something that we have to save for.

    Thank you for this post-Gary.

    • August 26, 2017 - 3:05 pm | Permalink

      Hello Jimmy
      Thank you for visiting and your insights concerning tools and its quality, my experience with lesser brands have never been good, I find it to be time consuming and sometimes dangerous to the Mechanic, using these low quality tools.
      I do understand that not everyone can afford good quality tools, so it is a wise bit of advice imparted by you here, to take some time and save up for better quality tools.
      Having an Auto Repair Shop, I have to insist on durability and good quality, that goes for Tools as well as Auto Parts.

      All the best Jimmy, until next time

      Gary

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Powered by: Wordpress